Chakra, How Does It Work?

Chakra means ‘wheel’ or ‘disc’ in Sanskrit. Chakras are the seven-basic psycho-spiritual energy centers in the subtle body from the base of the spine, to the crown of the head. Why Chakra healing? The most widely accepted model, developed by the Tantric Yoga System in the 11th century, lists seven chakras which correlate with the major nerve plexuses of the physical body, as well as psychological, emotional, and mental qualities.

Muladhara (root) Chakra:

  • Element: Earth
  • Color: Red
  • Sound: Lam

The 1st chakra of stability and security is related to our basic needs. Found around the base of the spine, between the anus and the genitals, it encompasses the first three vertebrae, bladder, and colon. When this chakra is open, we feel safe and fearless.

Svadhisthana (sacral) Chakra:

  • Element: Water
  • Color: Orange
  • Sound: Yam

The 2ndchakra is found around the genitals and is our creativity and sexual center. Located above the pubic bone, below the navel, and responsible for creative expression.

Manipura (solar plexus) Chakra:

  • Element: Fire
  • Color: Yellow
  • Sound: Ram

Means ‘lustrous gem’ and is found in the lumbar region near the navel. It’s the source of our personal power and is related to the transition from simple/base energy to complex emotion. It’s also believed to correspond to the roles played by the pancreas and the outer adrenal glands.

Chakra Styles - Marina Yoga Thailand

Anahata (heart) Chakra:

  • Element: Air
  • Color: Green
  • Sound: Yam

Unites the lower three chakras of matter to the upper three chakras of spirit. It’s related to emotions of love, compassion, and well-being.

Vishuddha (throat) Chakra:

  • Element: Ether
  • Color: Blue
  • Sound: Ham

Related to communication and growth (both in the form of self-expression, as well as losing one’s personal voice in the divine world). The source of our verbal expression and ability to speak our highest truth. It includes the neck, thyroid, jaw, mouth, and tongue.

Ajna (third eye) Chakra:

  • Element: Light
  • Color: Indigo
  • Sound: Om

Situated between the eyebrows, it relates to our awareness and light. Learning to live as pure insight by connecting to the center of our intuition. When blocked, it can cause closed-mindedness, being too attached to logic, cynicism.

Sahasrara (crown) Chakra:

  • Element: Cosmic us
  • Color: Violet / White
  • Sound: Om

Located at the top of the head, it’s considered to be the chakra of consciousness. Represents becoming one with the infinite. Also known as the ‘thousand petal lotus’.

Visit us for more information and schedule a Chakra healing session

No Comments

Post a Comment
Comments are used to share your experience and thoughts about this course. For questions and inquiries please use our Contact page.